Power of the Purse 2018

Power of the Purse 2018

The Women’s Foundation of Arkansas has announced the 2018 Power of the Purse honorees. The event will be September 24, 2018, from 11 a.m. – 1 p.m. held at the Wally Allen Ballroom at the Little Rock Statehouse Convention Center. Reservations for the event are $100 per person.

The Women’s Foundation of Arkansas was founded in 1998 with a mission and dedication to fund and invest in projects that support women and girls in the community. The foundation strives to not only expand educational opportunities for women who do not have access to them, but also to empower and provide women with necessary resources for emerging occupations, improve the economic status of women, and to promote a mentorship for women and girls who are in need of tangible and emotional support.

The first Power of the Purse event was in 1999 to announce the grants made possible to support these causes with donations from the original founders. The Women’s Foundation of Arkansas now have this event annually to honor accomplished women, announce grants made that year, and highlight other WFA programs.

The four honorees are each separated by category:

Woman of the Year in Business

Marcy Doderer, CEO of Arkansas Children’s Hospital

Woman of the Year in Philanthropy

Ellon Cockrill

Brownie Ledbetter Civic Engagement Award

Mary Louise Williams

First Lady’s Woman in Public Service

Annie Abrams

The event co-chairs are Colette D. Honorable and Rose Lacy Selig.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

Theme developed by TouchSize - Premium WordPress Themes and Websites